Paul Harris Awards

A Proud Tradition

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006, including the following from the Belleville club!

Ralph Boomhower
Shirley Follen
Charles Benson
Golda & Tom Lafferty
Margo Holoway
Boyd Sullivan
Ryan Williams
Shelby McPherson
Dr. Bruce Cronk
Myles Morton
Mel Plewes
Bill Morton
Dr. Elizabeth Scott
June Rickard
Bonnie Dobson
Patricia Guernsey
Angus B. Duffy
Ernie Parsons
Ingrid Moore
Selina Harley
Kenzo Dozono
Maurice Rollins
Andy Forgie
Donna Plumton
Jack Evans
Mark Rashotte
Peter Knudsen
Jack Miller
John Williams
Ken & Janet Harnden
Mark Philbin
Frances Burroughs
Jacques Schryer
Robert Howell
Dr. Aruna Alexander
Fran & Ed Lehtinen
Steve Lasko
David Muise
James Hurst
Debbie McGee Scott
Rick Meagher
Ross McDougall
Susanne Quinlan
Dwane & Carol Barratt